The Adobe Convert

Hello! I’m moving on from still images (slightly) and onto moving images (hurrah!).

This week we were tasked with creating an After Effects project using the previously taken Comic Strip, and making into a moving image using the ‘Rostrum Camera’ technique. You can view it HERE.

For those who don’t know, the ‘Rostrum Camera’ technique is where we place a virtual camera on a platform, and pan it in and around a still image, to create a more interesting moving image, than just a still image playing for 5 seconds. It’s very commonly used in documentary filmmaking, but in this instance, I’m using it to add a little more Pizzaz! to my prior work.


THE PROCESS:

The process begin with the Comic Strip I’d created a few weeks ago. Using After Effects, I placed the 6 individual photos one after another on the video timeline. I then created a keyframe which stated where the image started from (in full view) and where it would smoothly pan and zoom into (the subject within the picture). Using (a lot of) intuition, I figured out how to create the effect of one image exiting the screen left, while the next came in from the right. While this may seem a very minor part to the viewer, I feel like this (much like when I first began using photoshop) was a process I can use again and again (now I actually know how to do it!!)

 After Effects didn’t offer the intuition of audio editing I like when editing sound for a production, so I exported the finished video and imported into Adobe Premiere (I’m not sponsered by Adobe, I promise…) and imported my three audio tracks. Firstly, the washing machine noises were added to give a sense of place, and immerse a video in where this actually set. The coin slot noise to show the action being taken with in the still image; and lastly, the Jaws theme tune was chopped into its finished form to create the suspense for the big reveal. All in all, I feel the audio and video merge perfectly, and as a first foray into After Effects, I can see it may only have limited use in practice, but in what it can be used for, it can be used well.


Once again, thanks for reading my process and enjoying my work.

©GBuxey

One comment

  1. simulated · February 9, 2015

    This is a cute little narrative and on the whole (bar some skewing of the image aspect ratio) there is some well chosen rostrum movements and zooms. I’d be tempted to speed it all up. When we look at a comic strip like this on the page, how would our gaze flip between the elements of the story? Could this gaze be emulated here?

    Like

Leave a Reply

