First Rule of Motion Typography: You DO NOT Read about Motion Typography…

Well, I guess you’re breaking the first rule, so I’m going to stop here. (I don’t think my tutors would take too kindly to that..)

Jokes aside, I recently made an attempt at a Motion Typography (Fancy way of saying ‘words flying all over the screen’) video, set to the ‘8 Rules of Fight Club’ We originally were tasked with only creating a less than 10 second video, animating a single phrase, but I took it a step further, in an attempt to better my skills. ANYWAY, you can watch the video HERE, but there will be stills below narrating my process description! ENJOY!

The Process:

I began by finding a montage clip of the 8 rules of fight club. I used the audio from this, and I found a background for the whole project by finding a grungy/dirty canvas image (something I thought was textually appropriate for the video) and imported them both into After Effects, setting up the base for the project. Next I created the typography by using a Font found online (Link below). I created several layers, layering the project word by word (sometimes with individual letters), and lined them up with the audio track using the RAM preview button.

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 16.29.26

Once the words were in place, I used ‘key frames’ to show where the word needed to start, and where it needed to end (in the first 5 seconds, the words change from being landscape to portrait).

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 16.28.51

 

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 16.30.02


The FREE Font: http://www.1001fonts.com/blackout-font.html

©GBuxey

Leave a Reply

