Final Production Development

I began by amassing a sound base. I created a short piece of percussive music using GuitarPro to map out drums, then assigned different drums to sounds. I chose the higher pitched sounds for cymbals, and the lower pitch thuds and thumps to bass drums and snares. This helped as much as a storyboard, as it meant I had a tempo to set all the footage and actions to. I played the rhythm in the actor’s ear while they performed their action, so as to sync up exactly when edited together.

Once this was all filmed, I recreated the actions using a microphone placed above the floor. I experimented with different surfaces, such as a wooden floor, carpeted floor, and a towel underneath the object to try and get a realistic sound, without it being too reverberated, and therefore affecting the overlay of sounds. This was a challenge as I had to also time myself to throw the ball and catch it at the same time as the pre recorded section, and do certain actions loud enough to be caught on the microphone.

The editing was most difficult, as it had to be extremely precise. I spent a lot of time timing the clips so they started and ended on the beat. I took a creative decision to have black space when the noise wasn’t used to create a level of intrigue of when it would happen again. I started with the telephone ringing, and edited it to last for two beats at 120bpm. This created the original loop, and was the base for editing on top.

When filming, I decided to film a backstory to compliment the narrative that included the actor texting a friend to ask for entertainment, as they were bored. I felt this didn’t add anything to the narrative, and in the circumstances of creating a percussive narrative; very little story was actually needed. I added the footage of the actor texting to develop the narrative, as I’d chosen to keep the phone ringing in the background throughout the narrative – something I hadn’t planned on doing originally. By adding this extra element I feel it allowed the footage to breathe, as there was a lot of quick, small edits going on constantly.

Leave a Reply

